If you're out of anime on Sunday; press 5

[NOTE: This post is very old and no longer reflective of my opinions or writing style.]

Okay, so today I was being pretty lame and, unlike the last 2 weekends, didn’t muster up  the ability to stream anything. Since my last post, I began 3 new series, one of which is actually from the current season.

Genshiken

Firstly, I’m watching Genshiken, because I happen to be a fan of the manga, the DVDs are liscenced, and the second season is on it’s way, which is a whole load of excitement. I’ve read the first 2 volumes of the manga; the first being one of my alltime favorite manga volumes, though the second one was rather disappointing. The differences between the manga and anime are kind of strange in that they give a very different feel to everything. The manga had a lot of small quirks that don’t show up in the anime that were some of my favorite parts of the manga, while the anime has little things that make it intriguing as well. So far, the main difference for me has been between stuff that makes me laugh, and stuff that I think is nifty. Also, madarame’s voice actor kicks uber ass XD

Jungle wa Itsumo Hale nochi Guu

As for the show i’m watching from a season long past, that would be Jungle wa Itsumo Hale nochi Guu. Yes, this series has already seen American DVD release, and yet for some reason I was able to find subs with extreme ease O_o in any event, I’ve been watching it with my little brothers and it’s quite hilarous family fun

Claymore

As for a show that’s actually running, i may be taking up Claymore. I was drawn in by comparisons to berserk, and from episode 1 i’m interested in where this series goes. My favorite part has to be the art and animation styles. The character designs fit well with the dark, grainy stories and the scenery is all very cool – my favorite type of serious fantasy landscape. Very Valkyrie Profile if I may make the comparison.

the problem I had was naturally that it was rife with cliche. The whole kid looses family and follows savior plot has been done a trillion times (I know even I’ve used it before >_<) but i didn’t mind, so long as the series continues on well. It didn’t really tell us what to expect except a whole lot of violence, which is enough to keep me on board.

i’ve never been a fan of chatty bad guys, which could pose a problem, but at least it’s better than throw-away fights with one good bloodburst per episode (i’m looking at you Blood+) so this could be a fun series. I know I’ll have some catching up to do, but if it’s still good in ep 2 i may just get into it.

Leave a Reply

