One Thousand God Damn Anime

I have reached 1000 total entries on MAL, and since I only have one thing listed as “plan to watch” due to the site’s incorrect episode counts and airdates regarding Thermae Romae, this means that I’ve effectively “seen 1000 anime.” What a fun thing to be able to say! In the conventional sense of “seen” meaning “completed,” I’d only have 467 shows, but in any case I’ve seen at least *some amount* of 1000 anime. Pretty rockin’.

I was lucky enough to realize with two entries left to go that I was coming up on this benchmark and thought, why not make the last two something special? That’s not as easy to do as if I were reaching a benchmark number of completed shows—in this case, the last two entries had to be things which I’ve never seen before, so I couldn’t know as much about their quality, unless they were tie-in movies or something. Which one of them is.

For my first choice, I headed over to the Top Anime list on MAL and decided I’d watch the first thing that wouldn’t require me to watch something else first (i.e. no Clannad After Story when I haven’t finished Clannad). This brought me to One Piece: Strong World which I’ve conveniently had on-hand for over a year now. So I watched that, and it was pretty bitchin’. Funny thing about One Piece is that I’ve only scratched the surface of the TV show and manga, but I’ve seen almost all of the movies. It’s a franchise that I’d love to get into, but I can’t get past the shitty animation of the show nor the shitty scans of the early chapters of the manga. One day.

Then to cap off the grand, I thought I’d watch Video Girl Ai, in honor of 2DT leaving the blogosphere (also because I saw his avatar while I was trying to think of a show). So I watched the first episode of this rom-com about girl Ranma having been mysteriously separated from normal Ranma and sent to help some poor guy with his girl problems. After that… I put the show on hold!!! Hahahahaha!!!

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!