GHOST HOUND: My favorite kind of Mindrape

[NOTE: This post is very old and no longer reflective of my opinions or writing style.]

GHOST HOUND is the current project of Production I.G. but that’s far less important than knowing that the concept is by Masamune Shirow and that isn’t nearly as important as knowing that the director is the guy who did Serial Experiments Lain and Kino’s Journey. Double-take over to my favorites list and OMG they’re both in the top 10! So yeah, you can bet I’m looking forward to this.

The first episode was slow, but not slow like the first episode of Lain which drove me insane the first time I saw it, in fact it’s very interesting and far more linear while still being incredibly mysterious. My favorite thing about this director is that he can manage to make really beautiful, interesting, and unique things without the slightest bit of pretentiousness (if only the fans were the same way XD) and GHOST HOUND certainly has this attribute thus far.

The dream sequences are amazing, as well the whole time I watched I couldn’t stop thinking of the Dredg song Scissor Lock which is about sleep paralysis (I keep picking up… auditory hallucinations) overall watching this while playing Persona 3 is going to be absolute mindrape, but I’m fine with that because I’m fucking excited about this show. This is the one this season which I’ll be talking about and re-watching for years to come.

Leave a Reply

