For Better or for Pretty Damn Sucky

[NOTE: This post is very old and no longer reflective of my opinions or writing style.]


Every once in a while, I find myself looking at a show that I moderately enjoyed and wondering how it would have been if that show had been done right. Today I found one of my answers. Shakugan no Shana was the less-than-good show in question, and Tsukihime is what I’d call ‘that show done right’. Although what’s funny is, in most cases the better one probably came first and you don’t realize it.

Such as if you were to watch Strawberry Panic and then Marimite. Your reaction afterward might be ‘oops’ or the feeling that you were dumb for liking one when you’ve seen the other. This has happened to me a few times before. And in some cases, you hate the lesser show even more when you see the better one.

As for Shana, I already liked it yet because of the second season, but seeing something like Tsukihime which pulls off the feel of Shana so much better, now I wonder if I can even tolerate Shana ^^;;

I suppose it’s not so bad, though, to watch those poor shows if they end up being your gateway into the better ones.

Leave a Reply

