I'M BACK! PART ONE: EXTRAVA-FUCKING-GANZA

HELLO HELLO! So I haven’t posted in almost a week – shock! Why you ask? The first day or two were just laziness, but the rest was a few days back – I was watching Yonna in the Solitary Fortress rather easrly in the morning and I kept hearing weird noises. When the movie was over, I started looking around and found, almost 2 feet away from my arm, on my bed, a fucking enormous cockroach. For those who don’t know, I have a very serious phobia of cockroaches (and needles for that matter) and if I see one, I won’t enter the room again for a while, even if it’s dead, and after seeing one I tend to get really tense and paranoid for a couple days. Yeah, I’m a freak. Maybe I should go training in the mountains with a bunch of ninjas and come back as The Roach Needler.

Anyway, because I’ve been gone for so long and not for any reasons related to having nothing to write, I will be posting a lot of shit all at once. Lets start with a bunch of movies I watched over the last couple of days.

Kiki’s Delivery Service – Let’s go back to a time when I was about 10 years old, and I had a lot of Pokemon VHS I liked to watch – at the end of each one there’s be previews for various movies. I remember the one for one of the Ranma movies because it confused the shit out of me, and the one for Kimba which I thought for sure was a Disney movie, and then there was Kiki – at the time, anything with a female main character was automatically the gayest thing in existence because I had never spoken to a girl for more than 10 second before. When I got into anime several years later and found out it was by the legendary Hayao Miyazaki, I knew I’d end up having to watch it one day.

Fast forward to now when I enjoy Cardcaptors Sakura and Shugo Chara. I was going through a list of 80s anime movies and realized that I’d still never seen Kiki’s delivery service – this had to be fixed. I really, really, really liked it, to say the least. It was weird for me to see a Miyazaki film that wasn’t full of crazy monsters and amazing locations, yet somehow the film had the same magical whimsy as if it did. Kiki herself was an absolute blast, and Jiji is a perfect cat. This sort of movie reminds you that people really can be kind – a lot of the times in anime your average person is portrayed as being unreasonably kind to the point of being hard to believe, however everyone in Kiki felt totally natural and when they were friendly, it felt very warm. It’s a movie that makes me want to adventure out to some small town and just interact with people.

I definitely felt like this was one of the more well-paced Miyazaki films (but maybe because Howl’s and Spirited Away are the only ones I’ve seen recently) it did what I always love to see in a movie, feeling very short yet getting a lot done. I don’t like my movies to feel drawn out, and this one never did, always feeling exciting and at the times where Kiki was feeling down, I found myself really worried that she would get better. I also loved that the plot was very simple and fun, yet felt very important. Overall probably my second favorite Miyazaki film after Mononoke Hime (though you ought note I haven’t seen a couple more, and only half of Nausicaa)

Robot Carnival – I was frankly quite disappointed with this one. I love compilation films, especially ones with good directors, and short films in general. Katsuhiro Otomo’s brilliant opening sequence got my hopes up in the sky, but the rest didn’t quite live up to it. The ones I found myself liking the most were the really silly ones full of cheesy 80s music and the more artsy ones that I was expecting left shallow impressions.

Yonna in the Solitary Fortress – This was a very pleasant surprise. Knowing it was in any way connected to the shitty FF movie had my expectations low, but I couldn’t pass up on a 30 minute CG movie, so I gave it a go and was quite impressed. I’m always a fan of heroes who use a unique weapon, and the main character’s grappling hook definitely did the trick. i definitely enjoyed the fairy tale nature of it, with the girl in a tower guarded by a violent, bumbling man and the young hero offering her help. The fairy tale has a bit of a twist though with insinuated government conspiracy and with, in the end, the princess rejecting her prince to go live an independant life.

Genmu Senki Leda – Cheesy 80s trash, and not the good kind like Project AKo. I liked the charactrer desings, but the backgrounds and locations were extremely uninspired, draining any fantasy atmosphere. The characters had literally no personalities and existed for the sole purpose of pushing on the mediocre plot. The fight scenes weren’t bad, but the weak music and my inability to care about anything happening had me zoning out through most of them. By about 3/4 of the way through I found myself checking the time left over and over hoping it would hurry up and end.

Akira – I’ve been meaning to rewatch this for a long time. When I was 12 I had no fucking idea what happened in the film whatsoever, but it was one of my favorites just because it had violence, and buy do i love violence. I saw it a couple of times back then, but I’ve been meaning to find it/buy it/borrow it for about a year.

It was fucking amazing, far far better than I remembered, and well deserving of it’s widely used title of ‘masterpiece’. I don’t need to talk about it – I know you’ve seen it, but it was wicked. Also I’ve had the song ‘Kaneda’ stuck in my heaad for days now.

4 thoughts on “I'M BACK! PART ONE: EXTRAVA-FUCKING-GANZA

  1. Welcome back to blogging

    Nothing much happened and no one missed you

    And I hate cockroaches too, but did you know, they go “crunch” when you step on them? Which is pretty hilarious, really, it’s almost as if they’re screaming or as if they’re pieces of chips.

  2. I felt sorry for Akira’s gf when he exploded her. Probably the only sincerity I felt to any of the characters in Akira.

Leave a Reply

