Nekokon or Bust AKA Sieg Narutard!

So my local anime con here in VA Beach is Nekokon. Last year Shin and I considered going but decided not to because it’s full of Narutards. I know this for a fact because about 50 kids from my school go a year and I know them all and not one is an experienced anime fan. A friend of mine told me he highlight for him last year was a group gathering on the roof to shout ‘Naruto sucks’ down at a crowd of Narutards. Yeah. So why am I bringing this up?

Well, it’s an anime con, so naturally it’s not like there are going to be absolutely no real anime fans or things to do there. More importantly, Patz is interested in going as well. However, I don’t think it would be worth it just to go to a con full of Narutards. There needs to be more.

So Patz and I are considering running a panel. We decided that our concept would be ‘Licensed but Forgotten’ – talking about anime that are in print and available on US DVD but that have completely evaded any audience at all. I plan to borrow a few titles I learned about through ANN’s Buried Treasures as well as some of my own favorites like Figure 17, Red Garden, and Neo Ranga and his like Gao Gai Gar and Gundam 0080. We will probably talk about around 30 shows total. This way we can get the word out about great anime people probably don’t know however are readily available even or people who only buy DVDs or only watch dubs.

Of course, there has to e a bit of work put into this first. Most if not all of the anime I’ve come up with for the list are shows I haven’t finished and I’d also like to actually own the DVDs so I can show off their buyability. Adding to that the Nekokon ticket price and con expenses, I’ve got a lot of money to save (though I was planning to job hunt today anyway.) Luckily I only live about 30-45 minutes from the Hampton Roads Convention Center so I won’t even need a hotel.

Leave a Reply

