Condense The Nonsense

More or less, a post in The Epic Journey.

The point of my Epic Journey is to define and perfect my favorites list through discovering exactly what it is that makes them my favorites. However, before I can do that, I feel it is necessary to clean up my current favorites list. Currently, my list contains many anime that are there primarily for emotional reasons and others that are there because of their excellent quality through my eyes (and some both, of course.) Some of those shows I felt the need to keep on my list because of how good they were when I first saw them, but many such as Nana and Dennou Coil have had no lasting impact on me and don’t really belong in my favorites. I went through the list, picking out just the titles that I really care about. This list can be added to or removed from, but for now I am going to use this as a guideline for what shows to post about in the Epic Journey. I have removed my brief descriptions of each show to be re-added upon post in the Epic Journey.

There are a few rules for anime entering this list. The first is that I must wait a month after watching a show before adding it (becuase that has consistently been the amount of time it takes for me to get over the excitement of just watching). Next, the description cannot be added until I’ve seen the anime at least twice and done posts on it. Finally, no anime will be added if I haven’t completed it, regardless of how much I like it (this has always been a rule, since you never know when the ending will suck or something. See the current list over the break.

My Favorite Anime

Eureka Seven – Of all the anime I’ve seen, this is the most well-constructed in every way, and no other show has made me care about everything in it so much. Every character is memorable, and Renton and Eureka are spectacular. Possibly the only show that I can’t say anything negative about. I never wanted it to end, though the ending was beautiful.

ef – a tale of memories
Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann
Neon Genesis Evangelion End of Evangelion
Serial Experiments Lain
Baccano! + OVA
Hidamari Sketch
Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight
NHK ni Youkoso!
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
Lucky Star
Earth Maiden Arjuna
Martian Successor Nadesico
Neon Genesis Evangelion
Revolutionary Girl Utena
Otaku no Video

Honorable Mentions
Honey and Clover
Maria-sama ga Miteru + ~Haru~ + 3rd + DVD Specials
Black Lagoon + The Second Barrage
Higurashi no Naku Koro ni + Kai
Kamichu! + DVD Specials
Spice and Wolf
Red Garden
The SoulTaker
The Legend of Black Heaven

4 thoughts on “Condense The Nonsense

  1. Pingback: An Epic Journey: Introduction « Euphoric Field

  2. I agree with a lot of those actually – eight of the best are among my faves too.

    I’m actually very tempted to watch Arjuna – the premise sounds fantastic and I’m a long-standing admirer of Shoji Kawamori’s stuff too.

  3. Pingback: Fuzakenna! » Blog Archive » An Epic Journey: Introduction

Leave a Reply

