Defining My Fandom – What I Like More Than Anyone Else OR Oh My God, It's the Return of the Hayate Titles! OR Hey Guys What if I Finally Decided to One-Up My Former Longest Post Title? You Know, That One About Gurren Lagann and Stuff but Really Had Nothing to do With the Post? I Really Liked That Post Title. So Yeah, Lets Go for That. Though it's Going to Lay Waste to My Comment Thingy in the Left Hand Column, Especially if There's Like 5 Consecutive Comments. But Whatever, it's Worth the Reprecussion – OR Digital Boy Gets Indy – the Forgotten Parts of Your Lost Destiny

This is probably going to be one of my favorite lists ever. I want to list all of the things that probably mean more to me than they do to most people, some of which only I seem to ever talk about. These are some of my absolute favorite anime things, period – the kinds of things that make me an otaku. These are what I believe everyone else is missing out on. My most personal, precious anime treasures. They range everywhere from moments of dialogue to entire shows and occasionally artworks or others – and while I tried to exclude things that too many others would appreciate, some of these I’m sure are recognized by at least a cult support.

Originally, I was going to do this as a series of 4 or 5 large posts, but I decided it’d be more fun to do an individual small post for each thing – possibly grouping some together. So for today, we have the Hayate the Combat Butler Chapter Titles!

I decided to do this one first because it’s one of the biggest influences on my blog, though no one realizes it. The Hayate manga always has absurd and often very long chapter titles, many of which are anime and manga references. Some of my favorites include:

“In the language of flowers, the St. John’s Wort Fully Blooming in the Flower Garden Means ‘Vengeance'”

“Bad Ending Flags in All Directions”

“When I Turned, I Remembered That Was the Beginning of Unhappiness”

“I Lost My Temper and Did it Because I Was Mortified About Losing to Little Kids on the Street, But, I Have No Regrets”

“Who Came Up With the Sound Effect ‘Kapok’? It’s Awesome.”

“If This Were an Anime, the Opening Would Change!”

“A Power That Won’t Revolutionize the World” (whole chapter is huge Utena reference)

and “A Long Time Ago, Space Sherrif Gyaban Taught Us that Youth is About Not Turning Back!”

I’ve been doing it less lately, but I’m sure you’ve noticed some of my long post titles, often containing references that no one gets (like this one that references the song ‘sell out’ by ‘Reel Big Fish’ or this one referencing the Omar Rodriguez-lopez album “How do you dub? You fight for dub, you plus dub in”) No one seemed to notice at the time but I did make a post titled “All of My Post Titles are References to Hayate the Combat Butler – Yes, Even This One.” Some of my favorite of my crazy post titles include:

“Orwell Was Right, 1984 Was Fucking Nuts OR One Giant ‘Fuck You’ to Loli-bashers OR Holy Fucking Shit This is the Best Thing I’ve Discovered Ever OR GET READY TO BEAT YOUR SORRY DICK BLACK AND BLUE!!!!!”

and of course the holy grail

“Remember That Episode of Gurren-Lagann Where There Was That Crazy Village Underground With a Religion That Had Them Practicing Sacrifices in Order to Keep Their Population at a Certain Level but Kamina Didn’t Like it and Kept Trying to Change Things, but the Others Were on the Fence and Certain Cave-people Were Angry, but Then the Non-believers Left and the Village Presumably Kept Acting the Same Way? That Episode Was Kind of Boring. ”

This will possibly become part of the Epic Journey.

2 thoughts on “Defining My Fandom – What I Like More Than Anyone Else OR Oh My God, It's the Return of the Hayate Titles! OR Hey Guys What if I Finally Decided to One-Up My Former Longest Post Title? You Know, That One About Gurren Lagann and Stuff but Really Had Nothing to do With the Post? I Really Liked That Post Title. So Yeah, Lets Go for That. Though it's Going to Lay Waste to My Comment Thingy in the Left Hand Column, Especially if There's Like 5 Consecutive Comments. But Whatever, it's Worth the Reprecussion – OR Digital Boy Gets Indy – the Forgotten Parts of Your Lost Destiny

Leave a Reply

