These People Can't Act!!! Another Example of Dubs Failing Horribly

That is a a fucking horrible accent, please stop insulting my intelligence

That is a a fucking horrible accent, please stop insulting my intelligence

UPDATED: 9/12/09 3:21 PM EST as marked by EDIT

I’m not stating anything in this post as fact. This is just my opinion – but there are NO good dubs. I repeat: THERE ARE NO GOOD DUBS. And by ‘dubs’, I of course mean the term anime fans use to describe the English voice-over of a show originally voiced in Japanese. I will admit, there are ‘acceptable’ dubs out there. There are ‘decent’ dubs. But there are no good dubs, and there is definitely no excuse to only watch a show dubbed.

There is a pretty simple reason for this – the people who American companies hire to do anime character voices cannot act. What they do instead is make a funny voice that represents a highly generalized vision of their character’s personality. For instance, a somewhat arrogant female character will have a voice that squarely represents arrogance. This is the folly of English voice-acting – they are merely acting to a cliche and not actually conveying the emotions in the dialog.

Asuka Langley Sohryu from Neon Genesis Evangelion is a complex character – the things she says often hide a different meaning from her actual words, and Shinji’s inability to pinpoint her real meaning drives a lot of his perception of her. You’d never understand any of this if you only watched the dub of Evangelion in which Asuka is a hardcore bitch the entire time. If you’re really attentive, maybe you’ll see it in the facial animation, but once you switch to the original Japanese dub, you will suddenly feel like you are watching an entirely different character (I am, of course, speaking from personal experience.)

Now, most English voice actors for anime are obviously bad (try watching Utena dubbed, oh my god). However, I want to tell you why the ‘better‘ ones are still terrible.

A good actor is someone who brings something to the role they are playing. They don’t just read the script or even just read it well – they put their own voice into it to make the performance that much more special. If you don’t understand, go watch Pulp Fiction – Watch it, and try as hard as you can to think of anyone other than Samuel L. Jackson to play Jules. You can’t think of anyone, right? That’s because he is a great actor, and he MAKES that role.

Easily one of my alltime favorite performances

Easily one of my alltime favorite performances

When it comes to anime voice actors, a lot of the well-known Japanese ones are known specifically because they are able to make the roles their own. They make it so that you aren’t merely interested in Haruhi Suzumiya, but Haruhi Suzumiya as voiced by Aya Hirano, and you couldn’t imagine anyone else’s voice playing that character. I would get into a Japanese voice actor like I would a regular actor – I can’t say the same for any English anime voice actor.

This is not something inherent in the English language. It is perfectly possible for an anime to have a good dub, there just isn’t the kind of market for anime that would allow  a company to sink in the money to produce a good dub (did you know Nausicaa has Uma Thurman in it? Only the Miyazaki flicks!). It’s just not financially viable, and the only reason dubs do exist is because a large percentage of the American fanbase will ONLY watch anime dubbed (these are not the type who blog, so you don’t see them as much. Probably because they also aren’t the type who think about what they are watching.)

Suffice it to say, I would watch anime in Japanese no matter if the dubs were good – for me, a lot of the enjoyment of a work is looking as closely at the creator’s intent as possible, and if the creator intended the show to be in Japanese, that’s how I’m going to watch it. However, I would probably watch the dub as well, perhaps to show my friends and family the show. As it stands, I cannot do this, because the dub voices are embarrassing. The reason my parents won’t get into anime is because they can’t take the show’s seriously, which I can’t really hold against them when I can’t take the voices seriously myself.

I bring all of this up for a reason, and that reason is one of the most well-acted anime in recent years, Baccano! I want to show my parents Baccano because my dad is a huge fan of gangster films and I think he’d love it. I only have one big hang-up – my parents don’t have the kind of attention spans to sit through nearly six hours of subtitles. I had, however, heard that the dub was pretty good, so I wanted to test it myself. Luckily, Anime News Network is streaming the first two episodes dubbed, so I decided to check it out.

I can safely say that I will never, ever watch Baccano dubbed or allow anyone else to do so. The dub isn’t necessarily terrible – there are much, much worse out there – however, Baccano is meant to be stylized as an ensemble film. The point of an ensemble film is to bring in a whole lot of well-known actors and have them do what they do best among a slew of other giants. Baccano’s Japanese vocal cast is fucking gargantuan, and preventing a long list of Japanese names, the icing on the cake is a brilliant performance by Norio Wakamoto that lasts the whole first half of the first episode.

The English dub never had a chance against a cast who was picked to bring life to characters that were probably written with the actors already in mind. I already knew that I wouldn’t be able to like Gustave St. Germaine’s English voice actor because the entire magic of that role hinges on Wakamoto’s absurd pronunciation of the word ‘KYAAARORU’. How can any under-talented dub actor hope to match up to that? Even if the Baccano dub were half-decent (which it isn’t, they try to use New York accents, and it fails miserably) it just wouldn’t be the same anime.

If there is one glimmer of hope that dubs could ever be good, it’s Vic Mignogna. I’ve heard Vic’s performances as Edward Elric in FullMetal Alchemist and Yukito Kunisaki in Air, and both of them are genuinely good. However, in both cases, the rest of the dub actors are terrible and the Japanese cast is excellent, with Vic’s roles being originally being performed by Paku Romi and Daisuke Ono respectively, both of whom are better actors than Vig Mignogna.

EDIT: I take that back, Mignogna is not the only English voice actor I like. There is one female voice actor who does him one even better: Laura Bailey (whom I know as Sana in Kodocha, Reimi in Star Ocean the Last Hope, and the eponymous Shin-chan), her voice takes getting used to, but it is a lot of fun.

There are watchable dubs (Spirited Away, Kamichu!) but watchable just isn’t good enough when there’s an excellent Japanese version to be had. I can’t say I blame dubs for being bad, as much as I would love to be able to show anime to my parents – I understand that a good dub is impractical in the anime market. I’m just saying the shit sucks. So I guess this is a flame post.

48 thoughts on “These People Can't Act!!! Another Example of Dubs Failing Horribly

  1. While I don’t disagree with the fact that anime-dedicated dub actors are shit (with the exception of people like Vic and Crispin Freeman). I think you’re going too far by saying that there are no good dubs. Have you seen the Ghibli dubs as of late? Never once while watching them did I feel that this role could be better played by the japanese actor. Why? because they got actual proven hollywood talent working on them. Emily Mortimer, Billy Crystal, and Christian Bale did, imo, excellent jobs of portraying Sophie, Calcifer, and Howl respectively.

    While talent in anime dub-land is hard to find, I think the bigger issue that makes dubs fail are the translators themselves. Too much emphasis on doing an accurate dub, even if the joke/saying/phrase doesn’t translate to english. FLCL was an excellent dub in this regard, cause it aimed at trying to convey the same meaning of the original to an english audience, instead of showing a direct translation.

    iono, just my 2 cents

    • I didn’t like Howl’s Moving Castle, so there’s bias there, but while Disney’s dubs are serviceable, they still just aren’t as good as the originals IMO.

  2. I agree with you for the most part. I think the biggest slap in the face from all of this is that American dub actors get paid more than their original Japanese counterparts. Sometimes the dub actors don’t even try: watch the dub for Bible Black if you want a good laugh.

    And as someone who has lived in all five boroughs of the big apple, I must say that, in defense of Baccano, the New York accents are that bad. If anything, the voices for Isaac and Miria were grating. Isaac is supposed to be a dork, but in the dub he just sounds like a jackass.

    Also, don’t dub actors get typecast into a role as well?

  3. Cowboy Bebop’s dub is pretty terrific, though Bebop is just an exceptional series through and through.

    I’m not such a purist/elitist that I’d skip an English track if available. I actually prefer serviceable dubs to reading subtitles any day.

    • CB’s dub is okay. It’s not amazing or ‘terrific’, though. I think Fay’s English voice actress is less than great, if only because Megumi Hayashibara is a vocal goddess. CB also has Norio Wakamoto in it. I will say, however, that the dub is probably in the top 10.

  4. I just watched Gantz dubbed. The gratuitous profanity warmed my heart.

    The problem with subs:

    – Half of the time you read what they’re going to say before they say it
    – The other half of the time you hear what they say before you read it

    If you’re all about intent, this isn’t really a problem, but crisp delivery matters a lot to me (I’m not the type that likes to “think” while watching anime). I could definitely see myself falling in love the 20’s slang and gangster accents of the Baccano dub.

    • Maybe it’s because I took three years of Japanese class, but I have a really easy time matching the subtitles to the dialog, if because so much of dialog is the same in all show, I actually know what a lot of the Japanese phrases mean. There’s a learning curve, but it’s one worth getting around. Early in my anime watching, I never noticed voices at all, but after a year or so I became aware of them because I read subtitles so fast now that it’s not even like they are there. It was rather funny when I saw Inglourious Baterds in theaters and the fact that most of the movie was subtitled didn’t even really register at first.

  5. Dubs: bad. Inofficial Russian translators (fandubs): good. Original seyuu: better.

    Russian fandubs, but not all of them of course, are god, because: First, they don’t delete the original voices but overlap them. There’s usually just one translator/voice, but because of the overlapping, the brain connects the understandable text with the character so it’s not bad. Second, depending on how good the translator is, the show can get more than it had originally, e.g. original jokes or localized things-you-overwise-wouldn’t-understand. Too bad you, and well, the most of the world can’t enjoy them.

    Sometimes I’m just tired of reading subs and subs and subs again…

  6. well, i haven’t seen that many dubbed shows but the ones i did (about 3) put me off of watching the shows altogether. i remember watching evangelion streamed long ago; there was one ep that was messed up (17 maybe?) so i sat thru the dub. Brother. Can’t stand it..but again, that’s just my own preference.

  7. Hmm, wait. It seems the highlight point of your argument is that much of the first episode hinges on Wakamoto’s hilarious pronunciation of an English name, which obviously wouldn’t be nearly as awesome in English — that isn’t a fault of the voice actors, just the language barrier. Because the Japanese so often use English in ways we find hilarious, and because English-speaking actors could never replicate this hilarity or perceived passion, they won’t be good? Even if they got the best actor there was with all the deep, rumbling manliness that is Wakamoto, they would never be able to capture that inherent absurdity of mispronunciation.

    That said, I find the Baccano! dub to be pretty average, though I highly appreciate the effort to use New York accents. The series has always been something I wanted to see dubbed just because of the setting, so it’s neat all around.

    Mignogna does a really great job as Tamaki in Ouran Host Club as well, but I haven’t seen enough of his other roles to make a good judgment. Curious as to your opinion of Steve Blum and the Cowboy Bebop dub though, especially the latter as I think it’s one of the few series where I think the dub is better.

    • Ah, saw that you commented on CB’s dub higher in the comments — new question: what are those other dubs in your top ten? Another random note: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex’s dub is another I hold in high regard. Not better than the original this time (because I enjoy the original cast better than I did CB’s cast), but still fantastic.

    • once again, I don’t blame dubs for being bad, and it’s not their fault if they can’t emulate the jokes, it jsut means they are weaker though.

      Steve Blum is cool, though he fucks up sometimes. And he did a really horrible performance in Phantom Brave. As Spike, he’s pretty cool, though. Not so much as Mugen in Samurai Champloo where they tried to force the connection.

      As for a top 10, I can’t pick an exact 10, but some acceptable dubs I’ve seen include: Gankutsuou (similar problem to Baccano, not a bad dub, but the Japanese one is immense), Kamichu, Spirited Away, Mushi-shi, Welcome to the NHK (but still doesn’t compare to JP), Cowboy Bebop, Gunslinger Girl (which I’ve actually only seen dubbed), and of course some shows like Afro Samurai that were in English in the first place.

      EDIT: I forgot! My favorite dub is probably the one for Kodocha. That one I may actually call ‘good’.

  8. I think The Big O’s English dub is very good. With it, I feel that I’m watching Batman: The Animated Series, except with robots. I have no complaint with the Japanese dub but the English dub adds up to the great noir feel of the show.

    You should try it at least!

    • ROOOOOOOGEEEEEEEEER!!!!!!! I have only seen Big O dubbed thus far, but it was a long time ago. It’s yet another dub that hinges on Steve Blum’s likable voice.

  9. The Japanese used in anime isn’t much more natural or sensitive than what you hear in English dubs. Japan just happens to have a highly developed voice culture that makes things like that more palatable– Think of the pleasant intonations of Japanese train announcers or customer service reps, and it’s only a slight step sideways to understand the world of Japanese voice acting.

    If it were up to me, English dubs would be done by Britons rather than Americans. The UK still has a strong radio industry, as well as a clearer division between different levels of politeness in speech, so they might potentially have the chops for Japanese-style voice work.

    • Ah, once again, I think there’s nothing inherent in either language that makes them better to listen to, it’s a matter of the dub actors being difficult to listen to. the idea of using radio personalities actually sounds great.

      • Oh, sure, dub actors are subpar. But what I mean is that America simply doesn’t have an industry 100% dedicated to producing great voices, as Japan does. What we have are the dregs of theater and television training.

    • 2DT, I have to agree with you 100% about English anime should be done by British voice actors because many of my favorite books on tapes adaptations of sifi/fantasy series were done British radio actors and they owned those roles.

      A major problem I have with English dubs by American voice actors (mainly female)is that they just sound too damn old. One of my all time favorite Japanese voice acting performances was when Maaya Sakamoto (age 16) did the voice of Hitomi (age 15) from Escaflowne, you could just here the youth and freshness in her voice, she didn’t sound like my aunt.

      • Oldness can be a problem. English dub actors definitely seem to fail at making themselves sound young, instead coming across very forced.

  10. Aww man, if there was one anime that I thought would’ve been set up for a quality english dub, it was Baccano.

    Too often, I’ll flip back and forth between the English track and Japanese track, and I get the sense that the english dubs haven’t watched the original Japanese version, because the tone or delivery will feel completely off compared to what it originally was. I’m a lot more forgiving about voices not sounding quite right than losing the feel of the original, because the 2nd is a pure effort and performance issue.

    I think that’s why I’ve really liked the Disney/Ghibli dubs. They’ve been the only dubs I’ve really liked. It seems like the Disney directors and actors make a lot more effort trying to keep the performances respectful of the original Japanese VO.

  11. I’m no bigtime dub watcher myself — I pretty much stopped at the point where DVDs replaced VHSs and I no longer had to watch dubs. That said, I saw a lot of shit up to that point and most of it didn’t bother me that much. I still only have some older stuff like Ninja Scroll on VHS, and it doesn’t bother me. Akira… Ghost in the Shell (and Stand Alone Complex)… along with FLCL, I’d rather see GitS in dub.

    Trotting out Asuka is kind of a predictable move for dub-haters, but to me it’s important to mention why she’s bad rather than just hate on her. Very few of the people involved in the NGE dub were even actors. ADV realized at some point after acquiring NGE, which cost them a pretty penny, that they were in over their heads and had pretty much zero actors aside from Spike Spencer the human cheese grater. So they basically used whoever was there (yes, I listened to the dub director’s commentary track on the NGE DVDs). I think NGE lowered the bar, plain and simple. Things have only gotten worse since then, and the trend toward lower-priced, faster-released DVDs with no dub track is bar none the greatest thing that’s happened to me since I started buying anime on DVDs instead of tapes. I confirmed my opinions by attempting to watch the Geass dub, which may have actually lowered the bar further…

    But your reasoning for “why dubs suck” doesn’t resonate with me. Yeah, a great many of these people are not very good, but they have the deck stacked against them to begin with. You think they don’t care about their performance? If you’re so big on intent, stop to think about the intent of the dub director and actors. They are trying to balance faithful recreation with a natural-sounding script while worrying about limited budget and god knows how many other factors.

    But the biggest one is the obvious one. There’s something inherently unnatural about a dub. You’re translating between languages that have very little in common, your script is matched more to visual mouth timing than to any idea of flow or prose (further case for FLCL being a great dub), and the fact that anime mouths don’t usually have detailed lip movements is the only thing working on your side. To me, when you think about it, it becomes amazing that any dubs come out watchable at all.

    I don’t look at it as dubs sucking — dubs may come to be a thing of the past, a relic of the anime boom of the 90s. I suppose consumers of anime may become more like foreign film consumers (do I watch Kurosawa flicks in dub?) They may even be catered to as such, but I doubt it. Regardless, here’s my “you kids today have it so good” point: with DVDs, Crunchyroll, and even Funi online, you will probably never have to watch a dub again if you don’t wanna.

    • A lot of your post brings up something that I’ve explained to some of my friends who are big movie watchers. Movie fans will often watch older movies because they were highly influential to modern movies, and were innovators for their time. However, I tend to not be able to watch really old movies. If I used the excuse that the movie was terrible, it will often be met with cries such as that the movie was great for it’s time, or great for it’s budget. But my reply would be, ‘that doesn’t mean it doesn’t suck.’ Am I supposed to lower my standards when watching an older movie because it was influential and groundbreaking at the time? I may acknowledge it’s influence, but I am not going to watch that movie when there are newer, better takes on the concept.

      So sure, maybe the dubs are under extenuating circumstances that makes them as poor as they are even if they don’t want to be. Once again, I do not blame dubs for being bad, because there are reasons that it makes sense for them to, but that isn’t going to make me like them or say that they don’t suck.

      And mind you, I’ve seen a cast number of dubs. When I got into anime 7 years ago, I watched most things dubbed, and it didn’t matter to me back then. It’s only as my purposes for watching anime have changed that my caring has changed. I own some anime on VHS, and I simply can’t bring myself to watch them anymore.

      • I think you missed the point, so apologies if I didn’t convey it well. I know lots of people like you who can’t get into old movies because they don’t value context as much as pure enjoyment, which is absolutely a fair point (though it’s funny from someone who just got through saying he watches things with the creator’s intent closely in mind, but I’ll leave that one alone ^_^). But your friends saying those things doesn’t constitute them making excuses for an inferior product.

        The evidence of dubs like Big O, FLCL, and GiTS/SAC, plus plenty more means I don’t have to make excuses for bad dubs either. They’re just bad. And I sure as hell wouldn’t make excuses for ADV ruining the state of dubs by throwing whatever assholes were in the room in front of a mic during NGE.

        I was trying to illustrate that, while you kind of paint a portrait of dub actors as mouth breathers with no regard for the wishes of the creators, that’s just not the case — they do care, they often work with the creators, and a select few even do a fantastic job. As for how long you’ve watched anime, big whoop, I’ve changed my opinions too on the subject (ignorance was bliss in my case), it seems to be your go-to argument for a lot of stuff, but I don’t see the relevance to this.

        My central point: I found your reasons for arriving at your conclusion as suspect as the conclusion itself (“THERE ARE NO GOOD DUBS”). Absolutes set off red flags, regardless of your framing as “just an opinion.” And while your response to Kiri shows that you are ok with some, you seemed to conveniently ignore the ones that don’t support your thesis. I’m not saying you should watch them, or even that I disagree with the fact that original language always trumps — it does — just that …uh, I dunno I guess I don’t know what the hell I’m saying. I’m not sure I should have bothered pointing out reasoning flaws in a self-admitted “flame post.”

        • lol. Yes, I did ignore somethings and make absolutes, which is exactly why I prefaced the post the way I did with ‘this is my opinion’ and ended it with ‘this is a flame post.’ I don’t want you to read this post as me making a definitive statement about the quality of dub actors, I want you to read it as ‘this is what digitalboy thinks of dubs and why he thinks that way’.

          I didn’t mean to illustrate dub actors as “mouth breathers with no regard for the wishes of the creators” which is why I said several times that I do not blame dubs for being bad. I don’t doubt that these people want to do well, but so does my high school drama club when they perform a play. Regardless of how good they want to be, it doesn’t mean they don’t suck.

          Am I okay with some, yes, but that doesn’t mean I think they are good. I stand by the statement that there are no good dubs, because there is not a single show I would rather watch in English than in Japanese.

          But I think you realized all this at the end of your comment, lol.

          • “I stand by the statement that there are no good dubs, because there is not a single show I would rather watch in English than in Japanese” are there any anime you’d rather watched dubbed if you couldn’t speak Japanese?

  12. Disney seems to be the only group putting out a consistent effort, but then again, unlike US licensors, they actually have oodles of cash and can hire some decent talent to do the voicing. As for the others, it’s bound to be a hit or miss and since my time is pretty valuable, I’d prefer not to do the digging for good dubs unless someone specifically tells me about it.

    As for showing people dubbed stuff, my question is why? Are they the type that refuse to watch anything if they have to actually do some reading? Maybe it’s just me, but I even watch English-language movies subbed so that I don’t miss out on any crucial dialogue (my brain apparently processes written words faster than spoken words).

    • Disney dubs are great. When you get a bunch of A-list Hollywood stars to do voice overs, then you can start comparing apples to apples.

      “As for showing people dubbed stuff, my question is why?”
      Simply put, if DBZ and Gundam Wing and Pokemon weren’t in dub and on TV back in the day, I might have never become an anime fan. Localization in the native language just opens huge doors for marketability and general appeal. We exist in this niche group that understands lots of Japanese culture and sensibilities, but how do you get mainstream westerners, who chance upon anime on TV or at a theater to keep watching? Forcing them to read a whole script is a major hurdle to overcome. That’s why a company like Disney puts so much money and effort into making great dubs: not for those already into anime/Miyazaki, but to expand the market.

      • I dunno, with me, I had already been used to subtitles by watching Chinese kung-fu movies so watching anime subtitled wasn’t that big a jump. For that matter, I watch everything in their original language from stuff like Man of Marble to Korean films like Oldboy.

        And yeah, when I show people anime, I tend to show it in subtitled format. I just figure that those who can’t stand reading subtitles aren’t really the kind of people to take the plunge and explore a medium further. Dubbing, in most cases, is akin to watching Verdi operas in English rather than Italian, and doing that just doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to me.

        • You make a very good point on that opera statement – I think it’s pretty funny how there are some things that people expect to be subtitled and would never think of them otherwise, but in a case like anime, people don’t have the same expectation.

  13. It took a long time for my younger brother to be able to read fast enough to keep up with subtitles, which is why I know as many dubs I do, but he’s finally come up to speed. As for my parents, both of them have rather poor eyesight and short attention spans. My dad will watch subtitles, but I don’t know how long he can keep his eyes on the words on-screen. As for my mom, she can’t stand reading subtitles.

  14. Good opinion! You know the Oshii film, Avalon? Well, Polish actors performed in that film but when I got the DVD, the default voice was Japanese, so I changed it to original soundtrack – even though I didn’t understand (and I don’t now) Polish at all. And yes, I did read the English subtitle.

    There’s something about language in different cultures that brings out the nuance of each culture. Anytime you have sometime dubbing over the original work, the nuance will simply change because the upbringing of each person is different.

    Some of us watch anime for cheap (or not so cheap $) thrills, others got so deep into it (me) that they become fascinated with the culture itself and must have the full-on impact of the original artistic merit.

    BTW, I don’t welcome mainstream people (Ippanjin) anywhere near this stuff and I don’t care to convert anyone. I like niche.

  15. I have to %100 disagree with you. EVERY dub is terrible? Maybe in 1992, but things have changed since then and I think there’s a lot of very talented, very capable English voice actors in the industry today. What makes you think that their Japanese counterparts are any better at acting than they are? Its really hard to judge something like that especially if you don’t speak the language fluently. Now I will admit that the level of English voice acting talent isn’t on par with Japan’s, and I do prefer the subs 80% of the time but its no where near as terrible as you make it out to be. There are quite a few shows I rather watched dubbed, like FMA, Bebop, and yes I may be alone in this ( I’m almost sure I am), I even enjoyed the Eva dub more than the sub. Tiffany Grant Asuka >>> Yuko Miyamura’s Asuka ( I’m pretty sure I’m the only person who’s ever said that).

  16. First of all, I read the post and the comments and unless you wrote in some secret code, the impression I got was that even though you find some dubs and actors better than others, or no matter how much work or effort is put into a dub, you still think they’re all shit. That IS what you think right?

    Now forget the post. Who the FUCK are you to call ME a “fucking idiot”? I read the post and the comments and made my comment. I don’t remember insulting you though. But for some reason, instead of correcting me or pointing me to something I might have missed, because god forbid I misinterpreted your gay ass blog, you think its a good idea to insult me.

    Dude you don’t know me and have no right to talk down to me, regardless of how much you disagree with what I said or think what I said is wrong. So next time please take a minute and get off your stupid elitist high horse and pull whatever you have up your ass out and think about how you reply to people. I’m unable to blog anymore and when I did I didn’t have many readers, but I’d never insult someone who took the time to read my pointless opinions on some cartoons.
    I also find it it hilarious that you can even imagine insulting ANYONE when you have an entire fucking section on your site devoted to pictures of two little girls who look like their seven fucking. OH yes DB, you are so awesome and I’m an idiot. And you don’t have to worry about this fucking idiot commenting on anything here again. Have fun with your blog you fucking loser.

    • The reason I have called you a ‘fucking idiot’ is because in spite of the fact that I littered the post and comments with statements about how everything in the post was ‘my opinion’ and stated it so boldly, you would still accuse me of being incorrect, even though I never made any statement implying correctness on my part. I didn’t point this out to you, because I felt that rather than that, you should have paid attention to the post and comments in the first place.

      It’s a shame that you won’t read my blog or comment anymore, because I like you. I liked your blog, and I liked the banner you made me. I would have thought that someone who has been reading my blog consistently would understand the way that I react to things – besides seeing the way I speak anyway, I also would have expected you to have read my About page and understood the way that I reply to people. Evidently, you don’t understand my writing, so such a comment was ineffective.

      I can’t help but feel that you have overreacted in the largest sense, in that you would stop reading my blog and attack me so severly over such incredibly petty bullshit, but hey, that’s you. I might have sought to reconcile this and apologize had you not flipped your lid so harshly and insulted so many aspects of my blog, even going to far as to take a low blow in your last paragraph thtat only makes you look like an ass. Instead of making up, you made a revenge comment, and now we both look like idiots.

      I will have fun with my blog. Hopefully, you’ll have fun not reading it.

      • either the fact that you did’nt qualify the statment as an openion means it should be assumed to be what you think is an objective fact, or if you want to argue the oposite that means you should have assumed thekungfukid’s post was just his openion and not insulted him. you can’t have it both ways

        also the fact that this is just openion does’nt make it immune to rebuttal

        “I also would have expected you to have read my About page and understood the way that I reply to people” he shouldn’t have to read anything besides the blog

  17. First off let me say that I apologize for the last paragraph. You’re right in saying that it was completely over the top and very petty and I’m sorry for it. I was caught up in the moment and was venting aimlessly. I hope you can forgive me for that. Now with that being said…

    Like I said before, I did read the entire post and the comments. I am well aware that everything in your post was strictly your opinion and all I did was simply state mine. Also like I said, I don’t care what the explanation is, under NO circumstances do i find it acceptable to insult somebody like that. I don’t take that shit in real life and i definitely won’t take it from somebody on the internet. No, I haven’t read your About page but if I had known that this is how you respond to readers, I would have stopped reading a long time ago. I refuse to take ” well thats just the way i am ” as an excuse. No, I don’t understand “that type of writing” and i don’t plan on taking the time to.

    I liked your blog. You commented on mine a couple of times when it was still up. I thought we were on friendly terms. I’m not going to call one of my friends a “fucking idiot ” outside the context of a joke but maybe you do and thats ok. If that was your intention, it was poorly executed.

    So I stand by my decision to stop following your blog and again I’m sorry for that last paragraph as it was uncalled for. I do however feel that my anger was justified. I’m sorry it had to come to this and I wish you luck in your future blogging.

    • Good, I’m glad we’ve come back to being civilized, and since we have, I in turn apologize for calling you a ‘fucking idiot’. It was not meant to be insulting, as I wouldn’t think of the phrase that way – this is a bad excuse, but where I’m from we toss around that phrase like wildfire, and I admit that I have not been adept in adhering to courtesy and proper speaking practices.

      Just as my comment could have been cleaned up, your initial one could have taken a far less accusatory tone to prevent such a knee-jerk reaction, but as you are in respect of my opinion, I am in respect of yours, even if I don’t agree with it, and shouldn’t have insulted your person in light of it. Once again, i am sorry that you no longer wish to read my blog, and I extend the invitation that you may come back if you see fit.

  18. Crispin Freeman as an axe-crazy villain is the only good dub-VA in existence. If he’s not playing an axe-crazy villain, he’s as “decent” as the rest of them. I wish Hollywood actors would voice act for series the way they do for Miyazaki movies. Those are fantastic dubs, because those are fantastic actors.

Leave a Reply

