100 Characters For 100 Otaku (Part Three: 90-86)

The third post in “100 Characters For 100 Otaku.”

Alrighty! We’re blasting into the third part of “100 Character For 100 Otaku!” A post series in which I follow through on the insane request to take the list of my top one-hundred characters and not only state what I like about them, but also how they are mirrors of the true nature of otaku, how they parallel my own otakudom, and for some reason, how they parallel the first episode of Crest of the Stars! It’s a wacky ride, and today we have numbers 90 through 86!

90. Sae (from Hidamari Sketch)

Why I Like Her: Sae is kind of a tomboy in that she has very male tendencies and style, but it’s not for disliking feminine activities. Sae is just one of those girls who is beyond considerations of gender, which is part of what makes her heavily implied yuri relationship with Hiro that much more believable (that, and Hiro is a vixen!) Sae is fun and very real in contrast to the inherent ‘moe’ qualities of Hidamari Sketch. She’s also definitely my type.

A Mirror For Otaku: Sae really doesn’t like to be bothered, especially when she’s working. She values personal space and definitely minds you messing with her shit. Otaku are the same – they don’t want you in their room touching their shit and eating their food. Otaku can be more lenient with people they really trust, and their natural politeness will keep them from getting too aggressive, just like Sae, but they will still speak out their dismay.

Reflecting My Otakudom: Like Sae, I have some great friends and I love to hang out with them, but when I have business, I have business. Sae will lock herself in her room for long periods of time when she’s working on a novel, just as I will when working on a post (especially this one!) Also, like Sae, I have someone who always checks up and looks after me (mai waifu, no name.)

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Sae doesn’t want you bothering her and messing with her shit, and neither do the humans in CotS. When the Abh show up and start fucking their shit up, the humans are reasonably irked and don’t exactly react with hospitality.

89. Hoshino Ruri (from Martian Successor Nadesico)

Why I Like Her: Baka baka! Ruri is an icon in the loli world as well as the 90s anime fandom, partly for her memetic speech, but also for her complex personality as explored in Nadesico. Ruri is a genius and always has been, which has made her rather distant. She sees most people as being incorrigibly stupid and wonders why people can act as silly as they do, but what she comes to learn is that brains aren’t everything, and accepting people will get you far. She’s also got a very interesting friend in the form of the ship computer Omoikane.

A Mirror For Otaku: Otaku are often found to dislike the people around them, and tend to put these people below themselves. They wonder why everyone around them seems to know nothing about the world or the future, and it pisses them off that these people are allowed to live just as comfortably as they themselves are. These otaku need to learn the same lesson that Ruri did…

Reflecting My Otakudom: …a lesson I had to learn, myself. Growing up, I was at the top of my class a lot (yeah, who’da thunk?) and I thought everyone around me was an idiot with their skateboards and iPods and sexually transmitted diseases, but I eventually learned that I was really just jealous of their apparent happiness where intelligence was getting me nowhere. So I bought a skateboard and an iPod and might just have to inject myself with syphilis if I ever hope to contract it.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Like Ruri, the Abh are highly intelligent. We know this because their race is hyper-advanced and because they appear to have been dealing with the taking over of planets long enough to have boiled it down to a science. We come to learn more about the Abh later and see how they really are like Ruri post-self-discovery, but their appearance in just this episode alone certainly gives that same impression.

88. Uehara Mutsuki (from Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight!)

Why I Like Her: Mutsuki is a straight-up tomboy through-and-through. She likes sports and loves to have fun with her friends, but more important to her personality is her great sense of responsibility. Mutsuki has a lot of younger siblings that she has to take care of, and she does so with no complaints. As such, when the situation calls for her, she does what she can without whining and does her part in keeping everyone else on-track.

A Mirror For Otaku: Mutsuki doesn’t have a whole lot in common with otaku, being a very social and active person, but I do think that otaku have a similar sense of responsibility. When doing groupwork, otaku tend to make sure all of the work gets done, partly because they are push-overs, partly for their own success, but also because they feel a sense of need to not let the group down.

Reflecting My Otakudom: Like Mutsuki, I have younger siblings (in my case two younger brothers) who I feel very responsible for. Both of them look up to me and take after me in almost everything I do, so I feel like I need to keep them in check and make sure that they don’t also inherit my flaws.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: The Abh seem to feel somewhat of a responsibility to preserve humanity, possibly in a lot of the way that many developed countries feel the need to preserve those that aren’t doing as well. The Abh could easily have just enslaved humanity or annihilated them, but I think there was some sense of responsibility that lead them to allow a peaceful surrender.

87. Johannes Krauser II (from Detroit Metal City)

Why I Like Him: He is a terrorist from hell. He raped his mom yesterday. He’ll carve his dad out tomorrow. He is a terrorist straight out of hell. He doesn’t have a mom or dad, because he killed them. He doesn’t have friends or lovers, because he killed them. He also raped Tokyo Tower.

A Mirror For Otaku: Inside of many otaku is a beast that could be released if it weren’t for their fear of society’s retribution. This is why we have such a huge market for rape and why stuff like guro (NSFW link) exists. There’s something in a crazy, murderous rapist that anyone can connect to, especially when he’s grounded in comedy to keep us from feeling bad about it.

Reflecting My Otakudom: I, too, have some disturbing interests. I’ll admit, I’ve gotten off on some of the crazy shit I’ve seen, even if it’s all animated or drawn. I love to see violence and disturbing sexual situations, and I like to be able to freely make humor of those things, much as Krauser unintentionally does.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Krauser II rapes bitches like it’s nobody’s business, just as the Abh stuck their huge dick inside the human race and totally made them their bitch. PLAY MESU BUTA SYMPHONY!!!

86. Rico (from Gunslinger Girl)

Why I Like Her: Rico is probably the happiest living thing in Gunslinger Girl, in spite of the fact that her handler is a prick who beats the shit out of her when she makes mistakes. Rico doesn’t mind, though – she was paralyzed for most of her life and she’s just happy that she can even walk. She may not be the most complex character in Gunslinger Girl, but she’s refreshing both in her aforementioned happiness and in the fact that a kid can be so grateful for life.

A Mirror For Otaku: Rico is very single-minded and naive. She doesn’t really care about anything outside of being able to live her life happily at the agency and doing her best on all of the missions. Otaku can sometimes take a similar approach to their fandom – they simply ignore the outside world and what’s going on with other people and concentrate all of their energy on their hobby.

Reflecting My Otakudom: In many ways, I am one of those otaku. Sometimes, I find myself mentally dragged into outside affairs like the state of the world or the drama of other people, and I usually find myself unable to really care about the results of these situations where they don’t effect me directly. I might be inclined to say ‘I don’t care if the world ends, as long as I get to watch anime until it does.’

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: In Rico’s first chapter in Gunslinger Girl, she makes friends with a guy she meets while scoping out a building. When the guy sees her on her mission, she kills him without remorse, as she is a professional. Similarly, had the humans not surrendered peacefully to the Abh, they probably would have annihilated them.

There’s 90-86, tune in tomorrow for the next five! We’ve got a man with a large cross to bear, a white hawk, and who knows – maybe your favorite character!

11 thoughts on “100 Characters For 100 Otaku (Part Three: 90-86)

  1. Mmm. This one felt very thoughtful, and I especially liked the entry for Ruri… But why did you link to a page with examples of guro? For the one or two people who read you and don’t know what that is, surely you could have found a perfectly good explanatory website that isn’t going to traumatize them?

    • it did say NSFW link, and given the context of the sentence, you should be able to decide that it is something gruesome. Also, if you haven’t seen it yet, you are bound to. I dunno, I don’t see it as a big deal… this is tthe internet, is anything really shocking?

        • ah, well that’s cool. Yeah, when it comes down to it, I want to shock some people sometimes, so I enjoy links like that. I almost wouldn’t put the warning if I weren’t trying so hard not to possibly fuck it up.

  2. I almost clicked that guro link… awful memories.

    >Growing up, I was at the top of my class a lot (yeah, who’da thunk?)

    WTF. Seriously whoa!

    I liked the writeup for Sae the most :3

  3. Ruri Ruri Ruri Ruri Ruri Ruri Ruri…

    That picture of her creeps me out though… so much objectification…

    #87 was some freaky sh*t, I felt like he was going to come out of the computer screen like satan and rape me right here in the coffee shop. I didn’t know you were a barely-restrained beast, but if I ever meet you in real life, I’ll know not to piss you off. I definitely think everyone has the ability to go postal though. They say things like, “I could never imagine doing something like that,” but that’s just because life hasn’t f**ked ’em over enough yet. I’m a nice guy but sometimes I feel like going Dane Cook and shoving someone’s ice cream into their face because they’re being a dumbass. Hell, if it weren’t for cops, 90% of the US working middle class would go GTA at the drop of a hat.

    • ROFL, 87 is a joke, bro. Detroit Metal City is pure black comedy, and my talk on it is the same. A joke you’d only get if you saw the show, I guess. Although yeah, there’s truth to my words anyway.

Leave a Reply

