100 Characters For 100 Otaku (Part Four: 85-81)

The fourth post in “100 Characters For 100 Otaku.”

We’re already on part four of “100 Characters For 100 Otaku!” The post series in which I list my 100 favorite characters and go into detail on why I like them, how they are a mirror for the nature of otaku, how they reflect my own otakudom, and how they parallel the first episode of Crest of the Stars! Today I have an added pointer – if you haven’t noticed yet, you can click the names of characters and shows for more details on them! Okay, let’s go on with 85-81!

85. Nicholas D. Wolfwood (from Trigun)

Why I Like Him: When we meet Woflwood, it’s clear that his giant cross-shaped gun isn’t just there for looks – this is a man with a lot of weight to bear. As we follow him, we learn how heavy that weight is – we see him become the best friend of a man he is meant to kill, have to fight his own mentor, and try not to die before his child is born. Wolfwood lives hard, but bears up, and earns the viewer’s respect every step of the way. His final scenes are legendary.

A Mirror For Otaku: Otakudom can often be a heavy cross to bear, being as it is resented by a society that wishes to crucify all abnormalities. They’ll hammer in the nails of a pervert and a child molester, a stab you with the spear of a failure, and place the crown of ‘otaku’ on your head; but a true otaku will carry that cross until the day he dies.

Reflecting My Otakudom: I can’t say that otakudom has ever been quite such a big cross for me, having grown up in a very accepting environment, but perhaps it has been a gun. Wolfwood’s evil is all through a barrel, and I’d suffice it to say that I’ve caused harm to some with my otakudom – maybe none more so than myself.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Wolfwood is not an idealist. In one episode of Trigun, a child attacks the crew, and Vash wants to find a way to defeat him without killing him; however, Wolfwood shoots the kid in the head, knowing that there wasn’t time to let him cause more harm. A similar knee-jerk reaction to trouble can be seen on the part of the humans in CoTS. Even though they are given the option of peaceful surrender, they can’t believe it would be so easy at first, and consider launching a counterattack against the Abh.

84. Hosaka (from Minami-ke)

Why I Like Him: Hosaka is one of the funniest characters I have ever seen. I can’t think of a single time that he was on-screen wherein I wasn’t laughing my ass off. His tendency to randomly take off his shirt, his hilarious dreams of marrying Minami and having her take care of his profuse sweat, and the strange situations he finds himself in all combine in the ultimate amalgamation of hilarity.

A Mirror For Otaku: Like Hosaka, otaku can often get lost in their imagination. After all, many otaku have no interest in 3D women, meaning that all of their sexual needs will have to be fulfilled by fantasy. Their imaginations are often just as odd as Hosaka’s, too!

Reflecting My Otakudom: Hosaka has fantasies about the Manami sisters being his family, and of the eldest lovingly cleaning up his sweat. I own several dakimakura and have a room coated in posters of mostly-naked girls. I think there are obvious similarities.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Hosaka has dreams of a false family. In CotS, we learn that Jinto’s mother died very early in his life, and he was raised by a sort of false family between his father and the family of his father’s secretary. In the fist episode, we see this family possibly falling apart, like Hosaka waking from a dream.

83. Claes (from Gunslinger Girl)

Why I Like Her: Claes is the one Gunslinger Girl who doesn’t have to engage in combat thanks to tragic events that left her unable to fight. Instead, she is kept around to run tests on for the cybernetics she has. Claes has a very sober outlook and personality and finds pleasures in life’s little activities, as was taught to her by her late mentor. She likes to plant her garden, go fishing, and relax, as she tries to find contentment in the madness of her existence.

A Mirror For Otaku: Being alone and in your room long enough can give you a very passive take on life. As you find yourself increasingly able to just enjoy the fact that you are alone and have nothing to do (rather than let it bother you) you may reach the kind of placid fulfillment reached by Claes. (Once again, No Name is a great example of this.)

Reflecting My Otakudom: It’s very difficult for me to feel content. I am a man with raging ambition, and I never feel as though I have done enough. However, i have come to be content with things that I cannot or see fit not to change. The fact that I am a hopeless otaku does not bother me – in fact, I’ve found a solace in the fact itself.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: It’s not easy to be relaxed or content in a situation where you either A. are taking over a potentially hostile planet, or B. are being taken over by potentially hostile aliens. That said, at the end of the first episode of CotS, we are given a glimpse into the ten-year time-skip where the story takes place, and it appears as if humanity has largely come to terms with their status of being under the Abh empire.

82. Nakahara Misaki (from Welcome to the NHK)

Why I Like Her: Misaki seems like an enigma in Welcome to the NHK at first. In a world that totally refuses to believe in easy answers or wish fulfillment, we are given a character who has little to be called besides ‘moe’. However, it becomes apparent that this is an illusion, and Misaki is just as fucked over by the world as anyone else, and every bit as desperate for a new life as Satou is.

A Mirror For Otaku: Otaku often feel dissatisfaction towards their lives as otaku, especially hikkikomori. One of the points of NHK is to explore the despair of these otaku, but Misaki’s place in the story is also to show those otaku that they aren’t alone. Everyone in society is brought down by something, and many of them are every bit as desperate as the hikkikomori.

Reflecting My Otakudom: I am at a time in my life where I am completely content with my life’s situation, and especially content with my otaku status. However, being a ‘loser hikkikomori otaku’ was not always easy to deal with, especially when you are made to believe that you are supposed to be something else. Much like Misaki, my situation caused a lot of psychological torment, and lead me to the brink of suicide several times.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Misaki is driven to the edge by the pressures put on her by society. I don’t think anything says ‘society putting pressure on you’ quite like ‘alien race is taking over your planet.’

81. Griffith (from Berserk)

Why I Like Him: Griffith is a man with ambition the size of the earth itself, and he will let absolutely nothing stand in the way of it. Griffith takes in the main character, Gattsu, and becomes so close to him that the two of them are practically one being. Griffith teaches him so much and gives us so many reasons to love and respect him that his ultimate, extremely brutal betrayal is devastating even to the reader. However, it goes along with his personality, and he continues to show us just how violent a true ambition can be.

A Mirror For Otaku: Grifith grew up in the gutter and spent his childhood looking up at the castles and longing to own them for himself. Otaku can also be said to have such desires – they will find themselves inadequate, and see something shining in the distance that they wish could be a part of themselves; they may even seek to one day grasp that thing (Usually a job in the animation industry XD.)

Reflecting My Otakudom: I am a man with overwhelming ambition. That’s why my blog has run for over two years with almost no readers, why I watch and collect anime obsessively, and why I befriend people whom I let crack the whip of improvement over my ass. I am not content to be stationary – not content to be just a blogger, I have to be the biggest blogger, the biggest otaku, the biggest voice. Even if I never make it there, I’d never be content to quit.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Griffith is a warlord if there ever was one. Over the course of his life, he rose higher and higher into power until he became one of the most powerful men alive. Eventually, he had a true army, and began to conquer kingdom after kingdom in a quest to rule the world. This is a pretty easy parallel to the Abh, who have taken over multiple galaxies, and are capturing a new planet right in the first episode!

There’s 85-81, tune in tomorrow for the next five! We’ve got an alien computer, a man in despair, and who knows – maybe your favorite character!

10 thoughts on “100 Characters For 100 Otaku (Part Four: 85-81)

  1. I find Misaki to be just as inauthentic as Satou if not more so. After all, she frames her ‘missionary’ activities on the premise that the people she saves are worse than she is in the human social order. This hierarchy lets her feel better about herself and is more than anything a means towards vanity as the expense of others while sincerely (LOL sincerity) wishing these targets the best, only not too much so that they’ll be better off than she is.

    Does this describe you? Is this where you get your kicks out of blogging as an otaku?

    Go deep into the bones of this. Tell us how it is, and don’t fuck this up.

  2. By the way, is it just me, or were all of today’s entries very depressing?! (well, besides Hosaka, I guess) Odd coincidence, that.

    • You’re subconsciously grouping them according to how they fit into your head. Go deep into the bones of the bones of the similarities. Might not want to fuck this one up. Hidden gold!

Leave a Reply

