100 Characters For 100 Otaku (Part Fifteen: 30-26)

The fifteenth post in “100 Characters For 100 Otaku.”

We’re three-fourths of the way through “100 Characters For 100 Otaku!” Originally, the series was only going to be five posts long, with each containing twenty characters! I quickly realized this was not possible when I started writing the first post in my notebook, and decided to shorten it to ten posts, but once I transferred it to the computer, I knew it would have to be twenty! Today’s quarry are numbers 30 down through 26, so let’s check ’em out!

30. Kamina (from Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann)


A Mirror For Otaku: Kamina is like an older otaku. He has a lot of passion and know-how and wants to show the young-un’s how it’s done so that they, too, can feel the passion that makes him feel so good. Like an old otaku, he doesn’t consider his journey over – just beginning, really, and he wants to take the young along for the ride.

Reflecting My Otakudom: Kamina is never satisfied with what he’s seen. As soon as he sees the surface, he’s ready to head for the moon, and beyond. I can say the same for myself with anime. After I’ve gotten obsessed with seeing everything from the 90s and satiated my interest, it just becomes a need to see everything from the 80s next.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Jinto’s father wishes that his people would believe in him who believes in them, but like a dejected Simon who just watched his best friend make out with the woman he loves, humanity is unkind to him.

29. Hitotsubashi Yurie (from Kamichu!)

Why I Like Her: Kamichu’s characters may be moe, but they are probably some of the most realistic little girls you’ll find in anime. Yurie is hilarious in that she is lazy, not terribly bright, and in love with a guy who may or may not be sane, but she’s completely forgiven because she is not only cute, but close to the viewer like a personal friend. Did I mention she is also a god? Doesn’t hurt that she’s in probably the single most well-animated TV anime I’ve heard of, so we get to see all of her super-cute actions and expressions in ridiculous detail.

A Mirror For Otaku: Yurie is really lazy. I mean reeeeeally lazy. She will put as much off on her little brother as humanly possible, and never feels good about incoming physical labor. In one episode, she literally spends the entire episode napping under the kotatsu and barely has the energy to change the channel on the TV. Starting to sound familiar, my otaku friends?

Reflecting My Otakudom: I’m as lazy as they come myself, but that’s not how I am most like Yurie. I think I am most like her in my relationships with my friends. Even though I am the centerpiece of my group of friends, I also feel as though I really rely on them, and as if all of them really feel a need to take care of me. (like, my friends are always inexplicably buying me stuff when I never do the same for them!)

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Yurie Hitotsubashi wakes up a god one day. A very powerful god, too, who hasn’t decided what she’s the god of yet, but can do all kinds of extreme things regardless. One might also say that the power wielded by the Abh is God-like.

28. Miyako (from Hidamari Sketch)

Why I Like Her: Miyako’s a real charmer – a free spirit in the purest form, almost to the point of being enigmatic. She comes and goes like the weather and has nothing but fun with what she does. She’s poor, she’s dumb, and she’s always hungry, but nothing gets her down in the slightest. She’s a joy to have and a great friend and possible lover for Yunocchi. Also, she won the 2008 Megatokyo Forums Anime Grand Prix. (this time I know for sure!)

A Mirror For Otaku: The elements of Miyako that are similar to an otaku are mostly intrusive, lol. She has no money, like otaku, but still manages to eat like a damn dump-truck, like otaku. I also think that while most otaku are smarter than Miyako, they can be easily as air-headed.

Reflecting My Otakudom: Miyako just kind of goes with the flow and enjoys what’s going on, much as I try to do. This season I’ve really been letting it happen – regardless of a show’s quality, I’ve been just chilling through it and trying to find the good points about it to enjoy.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Miyako is a practitioner of the theory that ‘one man’s trash is another man’s treasure.’ She can make great use out of something that at first appears useless. I am sure that the human race was not the mot useful acquisition the Abh have made, but perhaps they can find a greater purpose for them.

27. Rakka (from Haibane Renmei)

Why I Like Her: Maybe it’s just that I’m a complete sucker for anyone voiced by Ryou Hirohashi? (3 total on this list.) Rakka is cute in her curiosity and reality of character, as well as in her worry. She’s like an adult re-experiencing childhood and getting to learn in a new way that allows her to see things in a better light than she might have. Fun if often crushing to watch.

A Mirror For Otaku: Rakka finds herself in a brand new world and has to take it all in and experience it. Similarly, otaku see whole new worlds through anime and as they continue with the series, they gradually immerse themselves into those worlds.

Reflecting My Otakudom: Rakka has a lot of curiosity not just for the world around her, but the people in it. She seems to be very in-tune with identifying what’s on a person’s mind. Similarly, I am not only curious in my consumption of new shows, but I am very in-tune with the intent of the creators.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Rakka gets sent to some kind of strange land at the beginning of Haibane Renmei. Similarly, Jinto has to be sent to a place completely alien to him at the start of CotS.

Pics impossible to find.

26. Suema Kazuko (from Boogiepop)

Why I Like Her: To really understand what makes Suema so great, you need to just read the Boogiepop novels and see the way her perspective is written. It’s her voice that is truly attractive. Besides that: “It’s pretty dang important to me! I’ve been over this hundreds of times. Why am I still alive? I’m only alive because the killer went and killed himself? Yeah, that makes me feel real good, knowing that. That means that the only way that good things happen is if you just sit and wait for bad things to self-destruct. What kind of explanation is that?! It sucks! And you know what else sucks? There’s nothing we can do to make the world a better place.” – from Boogiepop and Others by Kouhei Kadono, translated by Andrew Cunningham.

A Mirror For Otaku: Suema Kazuko is not so much an outcast, but rather distant from the rest of the class, simply because her interests are totally different. It’s not that people disliked her, but they couldn’t find a way to connect to her because she’d banked all of her interest into the obscure. I think this is how it is for a lot of otaku in high school.

Reflecting My Otakudom: Because that’s how it was for me – it wasn’t that people were picking on me when I was in high school, (as opposed to middle school), It’s just that I didn’t have much to say to the people I did talk to. All that I cared about was anime, and no one around me could really connect to anything I said. I wound up with a lot of really shallow friendships that essentially ended as soon as I graduated.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Suema has to continually deal with the idea that her life may not totally be in her hands, and things can happen on the whim of bad people. The humans in CotS also have their lives hanging in the hands of a power totally out of their control.

There’s 30-26, tune in tomorrow for five more! We’ve got a boy who swings for the fences, a Bruce Lee by way of Miles Davis-level badass, and who knows – maybe your favorite character!

5 thoughts on “100 Characters For 100 Otaku (Part Fifteen: 30-26)

  1. Dude Kamina is the personification of Andy Williams’ The Impossible Dream. Fucking epic song, fucking epic Kamina. Fuck yeah.

    Someone should quote Mino from Canaan.

    “SHIT! Justice will never lose!”


  2. The very beginning was probably what I liked best about Kamichu: “Mitsue-chan, you know, yesterday I became a god.” How? Why? It doesn’t matter.

    It seems Ryou Hirohashi also voiced the main character in Kaleido Star. What a wonderful surprise.

Leave a Reply

