100 Characters For 100 Otaku (Part Twenty: 5-1) FINAL

The twentieth and final post in “100 Characters For 100 Otaku.”

oh. my. god.

oh. my. god.

Well, folks, here we are! “The final post in 100 Characters For 100 Otaku!” It’s been a long and crazy ride, exciting every step of the way, but it’s finally time for the whole thing to end. I hope you’ve enjoyed what I sincerely hope will be remembered as my most epic and experimental post series to date (don’t worry, I’ll top this one day!) That being said, let’s cap it all off, baby! It’s time for the top five!!!

5. Itoh Nobue (from Strawberry Marshmallow)

Why I Like Her: Nobue was number two on mai waifu list, though only because I was scared she’d steel all of my money for cigarettes and alcohol – but fuck it, I’ll go poor to live with this smokin’ hot babe! Nobue is truly my anime soulmate. Calm, cool, great with kids, and she may not be booksmart, but I feel like she has a great mind. Like she’s got a lot of spiritual age. If I smoked and drank and rode a motorcycle, I might be as awesome as Nobue, but as it stands she’ll always be the badass babe I pine most to meet.

A Mirror For Otaku: Nobue is definitely a lolicon. Maybe she just likes cute girls? Maybe she just imagines cute little girls kissing because of some reason other than wanting to molest them? Sorry, I know the truth – sure, Nobue, like me, probably doesn’t approve of shagging little girls, but watching little girls shag each-other…. is such a different story…

Reflecting My Otakudom: My otakudom isn’t as cooru ando supaishii as Nobue, but I’d like to think that I have her relaxed and easy-going attitude towards anime. Chill, have a couple beers, grab a smoke, watch cute girls do cute thing… the good life~

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: After the decision of Jinto’s father, we see Jinto being driven around by his caretaker. Nobue, too, has to drive a bunch of kids around sometimes, though it can be difficult when you ride a motorbike…

4. Takasu Ryuuji (from Toradora!)

Why I Like Him: Takasu Ryuuji is such a respectable everyman that you can’t even call him an everyman – he’s too good for that. Ryuuji is a superman – he understands Taiga and puts up with her high levels of bullshit with little complaint – because he gets her. He gets why she acts the way she does, and he knows what a good person she really is at heart. So he stays by her side, the dragon to her taiga, until the end.

A Mirror For Otaku: One of an otaku’s positive attributes is that they can be very in-tuned to the thoughts of other people once they know something about those people. Ryuuji understands Taiga because like her, people have made assumptions about him his whole life without ever really getting to know him. Otaku, I think, understand other otaku well because they know that even if they aren’t the same kind of person, they have probably shared some similar experiences. This understanding is how I have forged many great friendships with my fellow otaku.

Reflecting My Otakudom: I WANNA BE TAKASU RYUUJI!!!! You know how Ryuuji has an idiot parrot who he loves and desperately wishes it would prove it’s worth by saying it’s own name for once? I feel like this is the same as my relationship with certain shows (like Shakugan no Shana).

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Ryuuji definitely has a deep wealth of understanding. Were he to manipulate his strength of understanding, it could be a great tactical weapon. The Abh make an offer like they do under the understanding that allowing people to surrender peacefully will be better for public relations. I can see Ryuuji realizing this himself.

3. “Rail Tracer” (from Baccano!)

Why I Like Him: The most badass character in a show that is a parade of badasses. Besides creating lots of brutal scenes, Rail Tracer (as he now insists on being called) is awesome because he thinks of himself as the god of this world. He isn’t un-killable because of being an immortal, like many of the characters, but simply because doesn’t believe he’ll ever be killed. He is always confident in victory, and therefor always lives. “YOU ARE ALL A PART OF MY DREAM!”

A Mirror For Otaku: Otaku have a tendency to appoint characters as their ‘waifus’ without permission (lol like me.) Likewise, Rail Tracer pretty much tells Chane ‘lol you gunna marry me’ without taking her feelings into account. Not that it matters – no woman could resist the charms of Rail Tracer! Now watch him fanboy over his waifu~

Reflecting My Otakudom: Oh come now, who’s the most conceited, self-centered, dramatically over-confident bastard this side of the blogosphere? Yours truly, of course! Like Rail Tracer, I pull through on my pure confidence in my boundless ability. If it weren’t for that insane confidence, could I have made a 100 characters list over the course of 20 days? No.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: Rail Tracer has a godlike strength powered by pure confidence. The Abh also have a godlike strength, and I gotta say, waltzing into a planet and telling them ‘yeah, we own you now’ takes some steel cajones.

2. Iwakura Lain (from Serial Experiments Lain)

Why I Like Her: Lain is one fucked up girl. She’s unsociable, a little mentally unstable, and can only be herself on the internet. She’s lonely, acts sometimes on emotion before giving it total thought, and she’s scared shitless of being confronted outside her comfort zone. Indeed, she is no where near perfect. And to make matters worse, she goes through absolute hell. This show was hard to watch at times knowing I couldn’t reach through the screen to comfort her. Lain is my ultimate object of 2D love; However, I just don’t think I have the stability to handle her as a waifu T_T

A Mirror For Otaku: Lain doesn’t know how to deal with people. She turns to the internet where she creates a false, more confident persona – like the person she wishes she could be. The fucked-up parts of her mind struggle to take over against the sensible parts. She falls in love with Alice because she is the only person who will be with her. Lain really possesses all of the most painful attributes of an otaku.

Reflecting My Otakudom: Oh god, have I ever been there. I member a painful time in my life where I was fucking around so much – I had a female Gaia character, and I fucked with people there. I had all these persona on the internet, and it became hard to distinguish which was the real me. Thankfully, like Lain, through spiritual revelation (and otakudom, of course), I was able to heal those wounds.

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: The Abh have an incredibly advanced civilization thanks to their use of technology. Lain, too, becomes a being almost an evolutionary-stage higher than humanity because of what technology allows her to do.

1. Aisaka Taiga (from Toradora!)

Why I Like Her: And here we are, at number one. Aisaka Taiga. We aren’t even going to talk about how she’s one of anime’s most sexually attractive characters to me, because even though that’s true, Taiga is NOT a woman I want a relationship with. She isn’t my type. However, I would kill to be her friend, because she is one of the most respectable characters I’ve ever seen. A good person at heart, misunderstood for so long, and then finally able to open up. She shows her true self, and she is magnificent – a perfect friend, ally, and companion. She is unforgettable – a person who is strong and full of conviction, but protective of friends and all too kind.  She kicks ass, takes names, and has real emotions that resonate with me. Plus, I’ll bet she fucks like a tiger!!!!

A Mirror For Otaku: Otaku sometimes lash out at the people around them because they feel misunderstood. When someone can’t see what they love or hate in a series, or when society itself can’t see anything good about them, then they troll and flame and lash out. This is why we all who can need to be the Takasu Ryuuji to the Taigas of the world – to show them that someone cares and understands, and that we are ready to see how they can do good~

Reflecting My Otakudom: I’m definitely a Taiga-type. I used to lash out a lot, precisely because people seemed to never ‘get’ me. People expected me to be this young, brash, hot-headed guy and I played right into my type. I was always the kind of guy who would step on people with strong beliefs just for holding them, or attack someone for not agreeing with me. I’ve grown up, though, the more I’ve learned that people will accept me if I cool down. Ghostlightning taught me that I needed to raise the expectations of me, and then meet those expectations. He and many others taught me that when you see through all the rage in a person, there is a great friend, and I’ve realized that if I cool down and clean up, people will love me. That’s why, when I decided not to ‘fuck this up’, I cleaned up my act completely, and now I’ve been more respected as a blogger than ever before :D

The First Episode of Crest of the Stars: The relationship between Jinto and Lafiel never would have been if the Abh hadn’t invaded Jinto’s planet. Likewise, the long and beautiful relationship between Taiga and Ryuuji began the night that she invaded his home. Dawwww <3

That’s it, folks! “100 Characters For 100 Otaku” is now complete! However, the “Don’t Fuck This Up” series is still going! Tune in tomorrow for the fourth part in the series!

23 thoughts on “100 Characters For 100 Otaku (Part Twenty: 5-1) FINAL

  1. I’m so fucking proud. You didn’t fuck this up. 20 days… Has it already been 20 days? 100 fucking characters. It’s heartwarming to see both Ryuuji and Taiga here, kind of like how I worship Minmay but won’t consider her waifu material because I want her and Hikaru to go at it.


  2. Well done, very well done. I couldn’t imagine that you would have done such a good job on this task, and I really didn’t think you fucked it up. I really agree with your reflection on Lain, and yes, I bet Taiga really does.

    Your #5, Nobue, I really don’t think that she’s a lolicon, if you want my opinion of Nobue check out my thinking on her (skip the episodic stuff.

    • Rofl, of course Nobue’s not a lolicon, I was joking :p, but yeah, Nobue is just like me – she can enjoy just seeing yung’uns having fun. I have 2 little brothers and have always been surrounded by little kids. Over the years I’ve noticed that anyone who is younger than me thinks I’m the coolest person ever and I’ve been a role model for many. That all said, I don’t think Nobue would be opposed to see young girls love, and neither would I…

  3. Interesting choice for #1. Helluva choice for #3. Nice job man, I haven’t commented much, but I’ve been following along and this has been a great series of posts. So what’s next? ;-)

    • Nothing big for a little while since I’m sure some people (including myself) are mentally exhausted after this. The DFTU series continues among other things.

  4. Wow, I totally wasn’t expecting Taiga for #1. But I was pleasantly surprised because I love her too ^^ Ryuuji is great as well. Another unforgettable anime couple.

    Well, it’s been awesome following your list here. I gotta work on mine now ;)

    • I think you’ll enjoy Ichimaro quite a bit and I’m more than sure you can find societary messages in it, so you better post them.

  5. Taiga and Ryuuji at the top 5? And Taiga is #1? Didn’t really expect that. But I do agree with your views on them. And yes, Rail Tracer is a good choice.

    Job well done on this one. So what are you gonna post next?

  6. Wow, nice. Frankly, I wasn’t sure you were going to be able to pull this off when I saw this but you did it. Great job!

    I went back and checked out what other picks you had after seeing this post. Here’s a list of characters that I complete agreed with:
    Male category: Edmon Dantes (yes!), Kenshin, Gattsu, Lelouch, Onizuka, Itoshiki, Kyon, Hosaka, and Sagara.
    Female category: Rena Ryuugu, Revi, Horo, and Haruhi,

    This reminds me that I should go pick up Baccanno! You’ve made it seemed like I’m missing out big time.

  7. I notice you didn’t mention Ryuuji’s wonderful domestic talents in context of otaku. Surely one must develop some keen figurine-dusting skills to avoid living in a nightmare of floating particulate matter.

    Congratulations on making it through to the end, and for keeping it interesting throughout. I’ll have a cup of tea in your name. It was brilliant.

  8. Fucking fantastic. I am impressed that you had the fortitude and stamina to keep this up for a full month and 100 characters. You did a good job, and though I didn’t know many of the characters listed, I learned enough about them to know if I would like their show. Ex. will definitely watch Baccano and Genshiken.

    I’m still disappointed Zechs and Dorothy from Gundam Wing and Big-O respectively didn’t get on your list, but I digress. We can’t be expected to have watched everything ever made. Seriously, if I ever had an opinion worth valuing, watch both shows. They’re both full of hilariously campy moments and both have fantastic stories and characters that will make you overflow with passion for anime.

    Once more, Onizuka for President of Everything.

    • I have wanted to watch Big O for years but the goddamn sub isn’t available streamed, so one day I’ll buy it on DVD. I do not, however, have any desire to watch Wing Gundam.

Leave a Reply

