Thankful For Five Years of Blogging

Five years is a long time. It’s longer than any single project or occupation I’ve held in my lifetime. Thus, I am personally quite stunned at how this hobby, primarily expressed through this blog, has become the most stable and enduring thing in my life (since starting this in 2007, I’ve graduated high school, dropped out of college twice, and spent a year as a NEET, while working on countless projects that never saw the light of day).

But enough plagiarizing ghostlightning. Whereas he was able to establish clear, reachable goals to accomplish before ending his blog on the highest possible note (yes folks, it’s coming), I’ve only ever set crazy fantasy goals while writing gallons of shit that has nothing to do with them. My one consistent goal has been “the perfection of my favorites list,” which is the kind of goal that expands to forever.

I’ve divided myself a lot in terms of blogs, and rather pointlessly. It’s not a matter of me deciding that I didn’t like my blog to have this or that extra subject so much as assuming that my audience wouldn’t care about it; and thinking “if I make a site just about manga, then it can get its own audience.” But this never happens. The only distinction really worth making is between whether something is a blog post or a tumblr post—the difference being that tumblr posts aren’t about anything in particular.

A month ago I put out a mission statement for my blog, and I’m sticking to it. I’ve had some difficulty deciding what’s appropriate for my site, and struggle to come up with post ideas that aren’t insanely in-depth. I’m working on that.

The long and short of it is, I have no reason to imagine this site ever closing. I won’t stop writing, and I don’t see the point in creating a new site, not only because this one already has no clear mission, but because I don’t intend to have one on any other site I may create. It would just be My Sword Is Unbelievably Dull 5.55 with all the old posts gone. Which isn’t a terrible idea, but I don’t need to move to do that.

Now, to the thanksgiving proper:

I love all of my readers. Everyone who reads my blog, my tumblr, and even has the headfucking insanity to read my twitter, you’re the ones who give me faith in my ability to produce worthwhile content. You remind me that there’s plenty of room in this big-ass world for what I do. Special shout-out to Chii, my most favorite reader <3

Shout-outs to ghostlightning and otou-san, whom I love. It’s not that they read me and that I read them—it’s that they’re my friends. And that goes for a lot of you, like Schneider and thoughtcannon and 2DT, along with plenty of other people that I don’t talk to nearly as much as I could stand to.

And of course, a big shout-out to everyone in the anime community, from fansubbers, to bloggers, to people who make weird youtube videos. You’re the reason that watching anime by itself isn’t enough for me anymore.

The last year has been by far the deadest in my blog’s history (I “only” made 96 posts in the past year). I don’t know if that will change. I don’t know if I’ll write as many posts as I’d like to, or if I’ll ever figure out what I’m doing with my life. But I know I’ll be here.

As for why I’m copying ghostlightning’s third anniversary post: you’ll see in two days.

9 thoughts on “Thankful For Five Years of Blogging

  1. You’re going to highlight the hottest girls in anime?

    Suddenly it’s all late November up in here. I’M NOT READY TO TURN 26 YET!

  2. I’m emerging out of the lurker shadows to say that I always read you via my rss feeds. I actually think you should just throw everything here and throw caution to the wind. No need for specific sites for specific topics!

  3. Pingback: Six Years Of Blogging Is All I Can Remember | My Sword Is Unbelievably Dull

Leave a Reply

