THIS. FUCKING. NOTEBOOK.

Look, my room is already overwhelmed with notebooks full of shit like lists and more lists and story concepts and also the occasional list. But I was at Office Depot today, saw this notebook, and needed it. I think it was designed for me specifically.

Fuck me, the lines are numbered and list-like! They’re just long enough to fit a title. I don’t mind the margin thing because I found a use for it, as seen on this page. The numbers are perfect to be checked off. The title box is two lines long, which is really nice. The last notebook I was using for lists had a title line, but it was fucking tiny and I could never fit any titles on it. There’s also a date box, which is nice, and even a name box, which is a little pointless, but nonetheless something I’ll probably fill in every time.

The upper-right box is what gets me, though. It’s a box for you to write in the page number. Why couldn’t they have just printed the page numbers on the pages? Maybe it’s so you can tear pages out and still continue, though if you write in pen you’ll make that useless rather quickly. I really don’t know, but I do know that in some of my notebooks I’ve made a habit of numbering all of the pages manually, and sometimes make a table of contents in the front of the book. It’s like the box knew.

It also has two covers. Don’t know why, but it’s pretty cool.

Okay I’m going to bed now.

16 thoughts on “THIS. FUCKING. NOTEBOOK.

  1. “top 300 anime just cause” nice! haha. i’m going to be writing a more complete top anime list for my site since i remember a chat we had forever ago and having a top insert number here list certainly does make you pick and choose between all your favourites when they should all just be your favourites and have them all listed!

    as for your notebook it’s pretty awesome. i have one somewhere but used it for my writing projects never blogging ones. i use a plain old boring notepad file named mew for blogging notes.

    • Late last year, I was planning to make a top 300, possibly as a year-end thing, but I couldn’t get worked up enough to make it truly awesome, and at this point I’ve been watching way too little anime to confidently say what I like. But I’d still love to do it just for the dumb factor.

  2. As messy as your hand-writing is, it’s better than my own. I can actually make out yours~

    (I totally forgot we were watching Lain. That was like millions of years ago.)

    • I figured you would have. But I never forget any of my failed projects! That’s why I put “Zen of the Zetsubou Girls 4” on there, as a sort-of joke, since that project was from late 2009.

      Honestly, though, I made an effort to write legibly for this list because I knew I’d be making a post about it. I can write even more neatly if I really take my time, but most of the time, my handwriting is much worse.

      • Ah, I see. Yeah, when I write neatly it looks similar to the above. But when I write for myself, even I can’t read every word (but it’s fine, because I can figure out stuff from context, plus it’s cool that I know practically nobody will be able to read what I wrote).

    • I’ve used/learned Cornell notes in school, though I didn’t like them. I could see how this book would be good for that were it not for the fact that the lines are numbered, and the box on the left is really small. Which doesn’t work with how I used to write those notes lol. That’s actually the main reason I didn’t like the method—it seemed to leave so much space on the right side of the page. As you can see in how much I filled out the list up top, I don’t like to leave blank space on a page.

      • Never really knew Cornell to be economical with space!
        I think the numbers are kind of cool; if you can keep a consistent numbering system, you could reference something you’ve written by writing something like 3.10 when needed. I guess its true, pen and paper, and then everything else is up to you! Really like your blog and your “organization system” btw.

        Best,
        D.

Leave a Reply

