Top 20 Anime of 2014 – #12. Is the Order a Rabbit?

Text version and links:

Full Playlist:
#14. Mushishi Zoku Shou:
#13. Hanamonogatari:

If you enjoy my videos, consider supporting me via patreon:
Or through paypal:

Watch this series on Crunchyroll:

Watch me and Shade’s episodic reactions to the first half of the show:

I’m just gonna be straight with you all on this one: I really like cute stuff. It takes a certain type and level of cuteness for me to watch an entire show just because it’s cute, but if any show can be said to fit that criteria, it’s Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka?, AKA Is the Order A Rabbit? This is going to be the hardest thing on my list to justify to those who don’t understand the appeal of this show, so if you find yourself alienated, then don’t worry–you won’t be alone.

A big part of the fun of watching this series weekly was that I did so with my little brother Shade, whose favorite anime are pretty much anything that’s funny and has cute girls. We actually recorded a lot of our reactions to the episodes and posted them on my Digi Does Anime channel, because I felt that those reactions did a better job of conveying our enjoyment of the show then us sitting around rambling about how cute it was. Incidentally, if you’re interested, I’ll link those videos below, since they still might be the best explanation.

GochiUsa is a show about five adorable girls who work in three different coffee shops and hang out around town together. I think the show takes place in Japan, but the town looks like some quaint European village which is awesomely detailed and drawn as a place that I wouldn’t mind living in. The series frequently uses detail and a subdued color palette to give all the coffee shops a feeling of inviting hominess.

All of the character designs are adorable as fuck, and the series frequently features surprisingly high-quality character art and animation. I daresay that this was one of the most aesthetically pleasing series of 2014 for me, which has a lot to do with making it easy to watch and rewatch.

It’s not incorrect to say that GoshiUsa is a situational comedy series, since there are a lot of jokes and laugh-out-loud moments, but I don’t think that it really cuts to the heart of the matter to call it a comedy. The next few shows on this list are much stronger comedic series, but GochiUsa is more notable for how easy it is to watch and how enjoyable it can be even when it’s not particularly funny. Sometimes, the punchline isn’t meant to make you laugh so much as it is to make you go, “dawww!,” and that emotion, which is so hard to put words to that I had to resort to a sound effect, is a lot of what drives this series.

All of the voice acting is pretty well-done, from a cast of actresses who all have relatively few roles, which is always refreshing. Uchida Maaya’s performance as Syaro is one of my favorites of the year, just because the way that she pronounces certain words is so uniquely adorable. Between this role and her performance as Ichinose Hajime in Gatchaman Crowds, she’s quickly becoming one of my favorite vocal performers.

I guess GochiUsa could be considered a “soothing-type” anime, as well as, to use a dying word, moe. There certainly have been ridiculous amounts of character goods released from this show, although sadly nothing I’d actually want to own. Come on figure makers, give me a puchi nendoroid set of all the girls, or at least Chino and Syaro, and you’ll have my money.

There’s really not much else to say about this show. You can probably tell just by looking at it if it’s the kind of show for you, and if you’re looking to get into this kind of show, then this is not a bad place to start. You can watch it legally for free on Crunchyroll.

So what did you think of the Rabbit show? Let me know in the comments below, and in case you missed them, check out my videos on #14, Mushishi Zoku Shou, and #13, Hanamonogatari, and stick around on my channel so see what my eleventh-favorite anime of the year is tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

