On the Ninth Day of Kurisumasu My Imouto Gave to Me: “…Yes.” From Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin Episode 11

(Lol late again, but I have an excuse. I was in the middle of writing when Funeral found out that Black Swan was finally playing in our city, so we immediately rushed out and saw it. I highly recommend you do the same if you can.)

Images courtesy of otou-chan's now-defunct tumblr. Go see him on his newly re-active Shameful Otaku Secret! http://www.shamefulotakusecret.com/

Occult Academy was easily the most disappointing TV anime that I finished in 2010. I got a bit excited for it because the A-1 Pictures “Anime no Chikara” project had turned out the amazing Sora no Woto earlier this year (I didn’t see Senkou no Nigth Raid until later, but it was still better than Occult Academy), and because the character design and animation directing were being handled by Chiba Takahiro, who was also responsible for Kamichu and worked on Read or Die. (The team from those 2 shows seems to work together a lot, and I’m a big fan).

Much in the vein of Futakoi Alternative or Angel Beats, Occult Academy sought to blend together utter silliness and bouts of seriousness together at random to create an unpredictable experience. Whereas those other two series did this to great success, Occult Academy utterly fucking failed, and wound up as terribly boring trite for most of the show.

The series’ only saving graces were the occasional hilariously over-the-top episode and one of my favorite Hanazawa Kana performances. I was actually considering dropping it 10 episodes in, but I thought I may as well finish.

I’m glad I did, because the last three episodes were so brick-shitting amazing that they made up for the rest of the show sucking dick.

This is not relevant, but I don't care.

Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin Episode 11 – Fuckwin Rollercoaster.

The episode kicks off right from the start with the main guy’s annoying love interest turning out to be an insane cult-member hell-bent on killing Maya (the only person who’s name was worth remembering from this show), and then indulges in one of the most erotic make-out scenes I’ve ever witnessed. I honestly blushed, hard.

The next crazy twist is when Maya suddenly turns up dead. It was surely hard to believe that she’d just up and died, but with the things already going on in the episode, I didn’t know what do believe. And even if she did die, fuck knows what might’ve gone down to bring her back.

Of course, fuck doesn’t need to go down, because she isn’t dead, and then psycho-bitch girlfriend turns out to be an evil magical girl set on destroying the world. This revalation was so intense and amazing that I found myself in a riot of laughter, falling out of my chair.

Episode 12 kept up the insanity throughout, and 13 provided a satisfying conclusion, even having the balls to show the lead characters as a grown-up married couple in the end. Touching! Too bad I have no desire to ever watch the series again.

Come back tomorrow to watch me unwrap my next present!

Bonus: I have no idea wtf this is, but it’s nice I guess.

5 thoughts on “On the Ninth Day of Kurisumasu My Imouto Gave to Me: “…Yes.” From Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin Episode 11

  1. The lead characters weren’t a married couple at the end; it was more of a mother-son sort of relationship. Which makes more sense given the large age difference.

    • I’d never even thought of that. At the end, she just tells her father ‘Fumiaki said he’d be home early, too’, and it never shows what either of them look like, so I guess I just assumed they were a couple. Also, how old were they, though? I think Maya was probably 16 or 17 and Fumiaki was like 12. That’s not a ‘large’ age difference at all.

  2. Pingback: 2010 Anime Review | My Sword Is Unbelievably Dull

Leave a comment